Enumclaw High earns 5th Avenue drama award

Enumclaw High School received the award for Most Outstanding Program Design at the 5th Avenue Theatre Awards in Seattle. Out of 82 high school musical productions across the state EHS entered the June 8 ceremony with four nominations. The program was for Enumclaw High’s spring production of “Titanic: The Musical.”

“We cheered, we applauded. It was a wonderful evening of celebration,” Darrell Miller said. “Two of our students also got to perform on stage in the opening number. Seniors Sheila Carey and Emily Voss danced up a storm.”

Overall, 80 students were directly involved in “Titanic: The Musical,” twice as many as the fall play “MacBeth.” In his curtain call for the 2009-10 school year, Miller noted 60 students took one of two acting courses offered at the high school, and 25 more were involved in the stagecraft and production course. Another 10 students took part in helping with the Thunder Mountain Middle school production of “A Year with Frog and Toad.” Eight students were also directly involved with the May play “Black Comedy.”

Profits from EHS productions went into field trips. Miller explained, usually 40 students participate in each excursion. The cost to students averages $15 a ticket. The field trips are open to all students.

Enumclaw High drama students earn varsity letters in the dramatic arts by participating in varied backstage and on stage roles throughout multiple productions. This year’s recipients were: freshmen, Alexis Lorenz; sophomores, Kenzie Olds, Erin White, Amara Hatfield and Cameron Miller; juniors, Taylor Capellaro, Sarah McKinley, Mary Nygaard, Kameron Jacobs and Heather Haney; and seniors Carey, Voss and David Nygaard.

Several students were also initiated in the Enumclaw High School Thespian Society Troupe No. 4120. The Thespian Society is an international organization similar to Honor Society, but for the theatre. Students earn points as actors and technicians. Members have opportunities to participate in exclusive workshops and national conferences. They are: Paige Keith, Brian Foster, Whitney Triplett, Kenny Frisbie, Heather Haney, Nygaard, Ali Lains, Sheridan Shiels, Spencer Merrill, Kyle Booher, Capellaro, Molly Semon, Meghan Iunker, Hannah VanValey, Courtney Armstrong, Tricia Wilson, Shane Rogers, Alexander Unguez and Alison Haywood.

The drama department presented medallions to seniors who participated in a show their senior year at the school’s awards ceremony June 1. They were: Carey, Armstrong, Shiels, Wilson, Natasha Barnhart, Evan Underbrink, Brian Foster, Stacia Bruner, Booher, Voss, Hallie Manning, Keith, Frisbie, Nygaard, Merrill, VanValey, Alex Staroff, Iunker, Jacquelyn Stephenson, Triplett and Joey Ostliff.

Each year the Lela Postler Award is presented to one senior who has dedicated the previous four years to the drama department. Named after one of Enumclaw High School’s first drama teachers this award honors the best. This year’s guest presenter was 1977 Lela Postler winner Vickie Elder, who handed the award to Voss.

The Buzzy Awards, honors voted on by all cast, crew and orchestra pit members as well as drama club members in good standing, were presented in the style of the Oscars or Tonys in May. The winners were: for “MacBeth,” Most Inspirational Female, Keith; Most Inspirational Male, Ryan Ashcraft; Most Outstanding Technician, Shiels; Most Outstanding Actress, Sarah McKinley; Most Outstanding Actor, Jacobs; Best Comedic Moment, Capellaro; Best Dramatic Moment, Ashcraft and Jacobs; Biggest Boo-Boo, Haywood; for “Titanic,” Most Inspirational Female, Erin White; Most Inspirational Male, Capellaro; Most Outstanding Technician, Merrill and Ari Saltarelli; Most Outstanding Actress, Voss; Most Outstanding Actor, Kyle Sharick; Most Outstanding Chorus Member Female, Stephenson; Most Outstanding Chorus Member Male, Hilario Zarate; Most Outstanding Dancer, KeelyAnn Kelly and VanValey; Most Outstanding Pit Member, Casey Smith; Best Comedic Moment, Cameron Miller; Best Dramatic Moment, Parke Thomas, Sharick and Caleb Flatt; Biggest Boo-Boo, Bailey Josie.

The group also handed out three “Buzzy for Buzz” and “Honey Awards.” Buzzy for Buzz awards went to Brian Senter, Ty Gramley and Eric Gustafson. Honey Awards went to Trevor Abrahamse, Rita Sand-Voss and Craig Crone.

Miller also noted EHS alumni performed at Evergreen State College, Washington State University, Western Washington University, University of Washington, Tacoma Musical Playhouse, Seattle Musical Theatre, North Seattle Community College, ArtsWest, Seattle Children’s Theatre and a variety of community theaters across thea area.

Drama department is already planning for 2009-10 with a fall production of “Elephant Man” and the spring musical will be “Peter Pan.”

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 19
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates