Some races will give voters a primary choice

By Kevin Hnson


Many races will go uncontested, but area voters will have a couple of decisions to make during the fall elections.

That’s the outcome of last week’s formal filing period, when political hopefuls made their intentions known with elections offices in both King and Pierce counties.

In Enumclaw, for example, two of the three races for City Council will provide voters with a choice. Council Position 2 has incumbent Rich Elfers being opposed by Darrel Dickson; in the Position 4 chase for a seat being vacated by Jeff Beckwith, Chance LaFleur and Robert Veitch are running.

In the Enumclaw School District, two of the four seats on the school board are contested. April Schroeder and Sara Poe Hardersen are both after the District 2 post, while Tina McGann and Dan Peterson filed for the District 4 seat.

In Black Diamond, all three council seats on the ballot have a pair of candidates. In Buckley, one race features three candidates and another has a pair of challengers.

The following is a full list of all candidates filing for local elective office.

• Enumclaw City Council Position 6

Jim Hogan

• Buckley City Council Position 4

James Montgomery

• Buckley City Council Position 5

Norm Irons

• Buckley City Council Position 6

Milt Tremblay

• Buckley City Council Position 7

Marvin Sundstrom

Judy Tremblay

• Enumclaw School District Position 1

Nancy Merrill

• Enumclaw School District Position 3

Corey Cassell

• White River School District Position 2

Susan McGuire

• White River School District Position 5

Jean Lacy

• Wilkeson Town Council Position 1

Ian Niles Galbraith

• Wilkeson Town Council Position 4

Trisha Summers

• Wilkeson Town Council Position 5

Terry Endsley

• Black Diamond City Council Position 5

Ron Taylor

Leih Mulvihill

• Black Diamond City Council Position 3

Joe May

• Black Diamond City Council Position 1

Kristine A. Hanson

Tamie L. Boxx-Deady

• Fire Protection District No. 28

David Hannity

• South Prairie City Council Position 1

James Frank

Stu Terry

• Carbonado School District Position 3

Thomas Morgan

• Carbonado School District Position 5

Sue McBride

• Carbonado Mayor

Brian Whitmore

Richie Morgan

• Carbonado Town Council Position 3

Jay Argo

Steve Ellis

• Carbonado Town Council Position 4

Wally Snover

• Carbonado Town Council Position 5

Buck McBride


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Sep 28
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates