Burn ban is extended, even as restrictions are eased for industrial operations | Washington State Department of Natural Resources

The Washington State Department of Natural Resources (DNR) announced today that weather conditions are still too dry to allow outdoor burning but, at the same time, have eased enough to allow industrial operations to resume in some areas of the state.

For both sides of the Cascades, DNR has extended the statewide burn ban on all DNR-protected lands; the ban is in effect through October 7, 2012, and includes all forestlands in Washington, except for federal lands.

“The conditions for new fires still exist, even as we head into October,” said Commissioner of Public Lands Peter Goldmark. “Our firefighting resources are stretched to the limit, and our firefighters are exhausted. We cannot take the risk of new, human-caused fires with the tinder dry conditions out there. We are taking the unprecedented step of extending the burn ban and asking everyone to be patient and vigilant until we see some rain.”

Industrial Fire Precaution Levels eased in some areas

The Industrial Fire Precaution Level (IFPL) levels for logging and industrial operations in the woods will be lowered in some areas of Washington. Changing weather conditions and fire danger, however, still exist in other areas

Effective at 12:01 a.m., September 28, 2012, the following IFPL Zones have been lowered to Level 2 (Partial Hootowl map):

-- Pierce County (Zone 657)

-- Kitsap County (Zone 654)


Effective at 12:01 a.m., September 29, 2012, the following IFPL Zones will lower to Level 3 (Partial Shutdown map):

-- Chelan, Kittitas, and Yakima counties (Zone 680)

-- Klickitat County (Zone 609E and 609W)

-- South King County (Zone 659N )

-- Mason County (Zone 652SE )


Remaining at a Level 4 (General Shutdown map):

-- Douglas, Chelan, Kittitas, and Yakima counties (Zone 675)


The IFPL Hotline is updated each afternoon around 5 p.m. For the IFPL in your desired work zone, call 1-800-527-3305.


The IFPL system


-- industrial Fire Precaution Level applies to all industrial operations that may cause a fire on or adjacent to lands protected from fire by DNR (WAC 332-24-301); this applies to logging and other industrial operations.


-- The levels are established for each of 38 “shutdown zones” in the state on the basis of National Fire Danger Rating System data.


-- There are four IFPL levels:

--  Level 1 (closed fire season): fire equipment and a fire watch is required

--  Level 2 (partial hoot owl): limits certain activities to between 8 p.m. and 1 p.m.; fire equipment and a fire watch is required

-- Level 3 (partial shutdown): prohibits some activities and limits others to between 8 p.m. and 1 p.m.; fire equipment and a fire watch is required


-- Level 4 (general shutdown): prohibits all activities


The same system is used by DNR, U.S. Forest Service, Bureau of Land Management, and Bureau of Indian Affairs. This provides consistency for workers operating on lands regulated by the different agencies. For specific information regarding components of the IFPL system, visit DNR’s website.



We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the latest Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Oct 22 edition online now. Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates