Home

Enumclaw Courier-Herald

Back

New Washington state minimum wage takes effect Jan. 1

December 29, 2012 · Updated 10:00 PM
Comments

Washington's minimum wage increases 15 cents to $9.19 an hour beginning Jan. 1.

Washington's minimum wage applies to workers in all industries, including agriculture, although 14- and 15-year-olds may be paid 85 percent of the adult minimum wage, or $7.81 an hour.

The Department of Labor & Industries adjusts the state's minimum wage each year in September as required by Initiative 688, which Washington state voters approved in 1998. The initiative requires the state to adjust the minimum wage according to the change in the federal "CPI-W," which is a national index covering the cost of goods and services needed for day-to-day living. That index rose 1.67 percent during the 12 months ending Aug. 31, 2012.

L&I provides an announcement of the 2013 minimum wage to print out and use as needed. The announcement is not required by L&I or Washington law. It is provided as a convenience.

Employers are still required to post the "Your Rights as a Worker" poster, which provides general information about the minimum wage and other topics.

Free workplace posters are available from any L&I office or by calling 1¬866-219-7321 or downloading from the L&I website at www.posters.Lni.wa.gov.

 


Commenting Rules

© Sound Publishing, Inc.
All rights reserved.
Our Titles | Work With Us