Enumclaw Courier-Herald


Governor appoints new members to State Transportation Commission

July 12, 2014 · 10:32 PM

Gov. Jay Inslee has appointed two new members to the Washington State Transportation Commission and reappointed Commissioner Joe Tortorelli of Spokane to a second six-year term.  Mary Riveland from Orcas Island and Roy Jennings from Vancouver joined the commission on July 1.

Full commission terms are six years. However, Riveland was appointed to fill a seat vacated mid-term by Tom Cowan from Lopez Island, so her term of appointment is from July 1 to June 30, 2016. Jennings fills a seat previously held by the late Philip Parker from Battle Ground, and his term will run from July 1 to June 30, 2019.

“We face significant challenges managing growing demands on our roadways and ferries at a time when resources are stretched very thin,” said Gov. Inslee. “Mary and Roy understand these challenges and their experience and expertise in transportation and strategic planning will be of great benefit to the commission.”

Riveland is a fourth-generation Washingtonian. She grew up in north central Washington and has spent her adult life in western Washington and the San Juan Islands. She is well versed in ferry issues and challenges. Riveland has served two different governors as director of the State Lottery, Department of General Administration, Department of Licensing and Department of Ecology. She is also very active in her local community, having served as a board member and chairman of the Orcas Center, the San Juan Preservation Trust, and the Orcas Medical Foundation.

“I'm looking forward to working with my fellow commissioners on the important transportation issues that affect every aspect of our lives in this state, whether we live in big cities, small rural communities or remote islands,” Riveland said. “Having an efficient and reliable transportation system is important to all of us.”

Jennings brings more than 30 years of experience in the field of transportation. He currently serves on the board of directors for the Clark County Public Transportation Benefit Area (CTRAN), which is the local transit agency in Clark County.  He is a member of the Amalgamated Transit Union Local 757 and currently serves as the president of the union’s Legislative Council of Washington State. He also is actively involved in the Southwest Washington Central Labor Council and the Southwest Washington Roundtable. Jennings served 20 years in the United States Marine Corp, retiring as a staff non-commission officer.

“Transportation is a vital function that directly impacts the health of our state’s economy. I am excited to serve on the commission and play a role in shaping our state’s transportation future,” Jennings said.  “While we face great challenges, the commission provides a forum where different views can come together and unified solutions can be identified. This is vital for progress to occur.”

Tortorelli, a lifelong resident of Spokane County, has been a member of the commission since 2011 and was elected vice-chairman of the commission in June. He is an economic development consultant with more than 30 years of experience working with cities, counties and ports.

The commission is a seven-member body charged with setting toll rates, ferry fares, authoring the state’s 20-year transportation plan, and advising the governor and Legislature on transportation policy and fiscal matters. For more information about the commission, visit: http://www.wstc.wa.gov/


Commenting Rules

© Sound Publishing, Inc.
All rights reserved.
Our Titles | Work With Us