Kahne picked by President Bush

President George W. Bush recently announced his intention to appoint 17 individuals to serve in his administration. Among them is Enumclaw's Kasey Kahne.

Bush intends to appoint the NASCAR driver to the President's Council on Service and Civic Participation, for two-year terms. Kahne would be Washington state's representative.

Others on the list are: V. Jay Allen of Arkansas, Stephen Baldwin of New York, Jean Case of Virginia, Gerald Colangelo of Arizona, Evern Cooper of Georgia, Myrka DeLlanos of Pennsylvania, Hilary Duff of Texas, Patricia Heaton of California, Arthur Linkletter of California, Mary Myers of Virginia, Corinne Roberts of Louisiana, Michael Smith of Tennessee, Wendy Spencer of Florida, Roxanne Spillett of Georgia, Hope Taft of Ohio and Charles P. Turlinski of Ohio.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 19
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates