voters have plenty to pick from

By Kevin Hanson

The Courier-Herald

Local voters have no local races to decide this fall, but there are still plenty of political contests to keep everyone entertained.

The official filing period - for political seats throughout the state - came to a close Friday. There was a distinct lack of local flavor, as every position on the Enumclaw and Buckley city councils, along with every seat on the Enumclaw and White River school boards, is filled for another year, at least.

But a long list of political races remains, and Plateau residents will be called upon to help decide who represents the area in Washington, D.C., and in Olympia.

The following is a list of candidates Plateau voters will choose from, either during the September primary election or November's general election. Primary voting will be different this time around, as the Supreme Court tossed out Washington's traditional blanket primary; voters now will be limited to voting for candidates within a single party.

In the general election, voters will cast ballots as usual.

State Legislature

31st Legislative District - This race, the closest to home, has no drama at all. The two seats in the House of Representatives are up for grabs and the two incumbents are running unopposed. Dan Roach will be elected to a third two-year term and Jan Shabro will be elected for a second time. Both are Bonney Lake-area Republicans and represent at area that takes in nearly all of the Plateau.

2nd Legislative District - This district sits primarily off the Plateau, but includes the town of Carbonado and part of Wilkeson. In the Senate race, incumbent Marilyn Rasmussen and challenger Deryl McCarty will advance directly to the general election. Rasmussen is a Democrat, McCarty a Republican.

The Position 1 seat in the House of Representatives is being vacated and there's no shortage of candidates. Four candidates are looking to carry the Democratic banner: Ronald Springer, Larry Nelson, Dennis Townsend and Cindy Poysnick. There are three candidates seeking the Republican nomination: Dianna Hawkins, Jim McCune and Scott Christie.


Democratic candidates:

Mike The Mover

Ron Sims

Eugen Buculei

Don Hansler

Scott Headland

Christine Gregoire

Republican candidates:

John W. Aiken Jr.

Bill Meyer

Dino Rossi

Libertarian candidates:

Michael Nelson

Ruth Bennett

Lieutenant governor

Democratic candidate:

Brad Owen

Republican candidates:

Jim Wiest

Jim Nobles

Scott Bonifield

Libertarian candidate:

Jocelyn A. Langlois

Green Party candidate:

Bern Haggerty

Secretary of state

Democratic candidate:

Laura Ruderman

Republican candidate:

Sam Reed

Libertarian candidate:

Jacqueline Passey

State treasurer

Democratic candidate:

Mike Murphy

Libertarian candidates:

John Sample

State auditor

Democratic candidate:

Brian Sonntag

Libertarian candidate:

Jason G. Bush

Attorney general

Democratic candidates:

Deborah Senn

Mark Sidran

Republican candidates:

Rob McKenna

Mike Vaska

Libertarian candidate:

J. Bradley Gibson

Green Party candidate:

Paul Richmond

Commissioner of public lands

Democratic candidate:

Mike Cooper

Republican candidate:

Doug Sutherland

Superintendent of

public instruction

Nonpartisan candidates:

Judith Billings

KumRoon Maksirisombat

Teresa (Terry) Bergeson

Juanita Doyon

David Blomstrom

Neil (Nails) Helgeland

John Blair

Insurance commissioner

Democratic candidate:

Mike Kreidler

Republican candidates:

Earl C. Dennis

John Adams

Curtis L. Fackler

Libertarian candidate:

Stephen D. Steele

Supreme Court

Position 1

Gary Carpenter

Jim Johnson

Mary Kay Becker

William (Bill) Murphy

Maureen Hart

Robert H. Alsdorf

Position 5

Terry Lukens

Barbara Madsen

Position 6

James White

Steve Merrival

Doug Schafer

Richard B. Sanders

Fred L. Stewart

Terry Sebring

King County Court of Appeals, Division 1, District 1

Position 1

C. Kenneth Grosse

William Fosbre

Pierce County Court of Appeals, Division 2, District 1

Position 1

Marywave Van Deren

U.S. senator - statewide

Democratic candidate

Patty Murray

Mohammad H. Said

Republican candiddate

Chuck Jackson

William Edward Chovil

George R. Nethercutt Jr.

Brad Klippert

Reed Davis

Libertarian candidate

J. Mills

Green Party candidate

Mark B. Wilson

U.S. Representative, District 8

Democratic candidate

Dave Ross

Heidi Behrens-Benedict

Alex Alben

Republican candidate

Diane Tebelius

Luke Esser

Dave Reichert

Conrad Lee

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 19
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates