White River School Board told of students' lofty goals

White River High School's Associated Student Body officers have set some lofty goals for the 2009-10 school year.

President KatieJo Clinkingbeard and fellow ASB officers Meghan Dietrich, Gabbie Wesner, Andra Halkjar and Mat Dickson presented some of their plans to White River School Board members at their regular meeting Sept. 9.

Officers would like to increase student council participation, setting a goal of 75 percent. They would also like to increase school spirit and school pride, starting with Homecoming Week Oct. 5-10.

This year's Homecoming theme will be A Walk Through Central Park and, bucking tradition, they are not planning a coronation program. There will still be a king, queen, duke and duchess, but there will also be prince and princess representing all grade levels.

In other business, the board:

• set its next special meeting for Sept. 23 and its regular meeting for Oct. 14, both at 6 p.m. in the board conference room.

• announced early relase for planning and training Oct. 1.

• was introduced to recently-hired high school staff by Principal Mike Hagadone. They were: Assistant Principal Lainey Mathews, part-time choir teacher Robin Howard, part-time drama teacher Kaycee Barker, psychologist Sandra Riano, graphic design teacher Nicholas Cochran, social worker Jennifer Nicolls and career information specialists Cindy Hoover, Jeanie Hellwich and Amy Bonzon.

• approved the 2009-15 Capital Facilities Plan. The board had returned the plan for clarifications during the summer. The plan is designed to examine growth and help in the development of a formula to collect impact fees associated with growth. According to district Facilities and Transportation Services Director Rick LaBoyne some of the discrepencies were due to the count of portables, primarily at Glacier Middle School.

• received a detailed overview of the district's Washington Assessment of Student Learning results from district Assessment and Curriculum Director Mike Jacobsen.

• voted 4-1, with board member John McArtor dissenting, to approve the personnel report where the board: accepted a letter of resignation from paraeducator Teri LaPlant and Julie Stroh and hired career information specialists Bonzon, Hoover, Hellwich; paraeducators Jenny Drozynski, Heather Martin, Catherine Meagher, Janelle Miller, Diana Richardson and Jody Lamb; prevention services grant coordiator Herb Entz; campus safety and security officer, Janet Groves; teacher on special assignment (TOSA) Ellen Hahn; teachers Hilary Hamlett, Bridget Vannice and Heather Walling; and long-term substitutes Kyle Hood, Megan Turner and Amanda Land.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 26
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates