Club News

  • Tue Jan 27th, 2009 3:16am
  • News

Joe Chase received the Melvin Jones Fellowship during a recent Lions Club event. Making the presentation is Miles Moergeli.

Lions Club

recognizes past presidents

The Enumclaw Lions Club has been running a full slate of activities beginning with its regular program.

President Dale Holland opened the evening, attended by 95 Lions and guests from the surrounding area, held at the Danish Hall. Mayor John Wise, the Lions District Governor, and Zone Chairman were part of the program. Members of the Auburn Lions Club, who sponsored the Enumclaw Lions Club in 1948, were in attendance and presented the club a plaque that included a picture of the 1948 Charter Night. Mayor Wise congratulated the Enumclaw Lions for their giving to the community through the past 60 years.

Club past presidents in attendance were recognized. They included Charlie Berg, Miles Moergeli, Dale Rasmussen, Bob Wills, Doug Wagner, Steve Moergli, Mike Goodfellow, Greg Vesey, Joe Chase, Mike Runland, Dr. Charles Russell, Alan Predmore, Dave McCrindle, Bert Lombardini and Charter Member Claude Mallery .

The evening was highlighted by Past President and Life Member Berg‚ “Reflections of the Past‚“ slideshow with narration by Past Zone Chair and Past President Wagner. Another highlight of the evening was the awarding of a Melvin Jones Fellowship to Past Zone Chair and Past President Joe Chase. The award is named after the founder of the Lions organization and is one of the highest honors in Lionism.