Locals earn university honors

WSU, Central Washington, UW, and others are represented.

Images courtesy University of Washington, Central Washington University, and Washington State University.

Images courtesy University of Washington, Central Washington University, and Washington State University.


Students from a trio of Plateau communities were named to the Washington State University President’s Honor Roll for the 2019 spring semester.

The President’s Honor Roll recognizes students who stand above the rest with excellent academic performance. To be eligible, undergraduate students must be enrolled in a minimum of nine graded hours in a single term at WSU and earn a grade-point average of at least 3.75 or earn a 3.50 cumulative GPA based on 15 cumulative hours of graded work.

Black Diamond: Nicholas J. Buss, Sierra C. Clemens, Rachel J. Duty, Travis L. Ediger, Niklas S. Henning, Chloe A. Hobson, Molly Jobe, Jeffrey D. Kranz.

Buckley: Tristan R. Fry, Janelle E. Hart, Carson L. Kreager, Michaela J. Long, Kate A. Mauldin, Taylor E. Morris, Amanda R. Obey, Logan J. Parr, Ava J. Pearson, Hannah J. Swanson.

Enumclaw: Tyler G. Bogh, Elise E. Dunning, Nathaniel P. Fox, Emma D. Gunter, David M. Harvey, Maxwell T. Kranz, Rachel L. Leeper, Reece A. Menzel, Alexandra E. Puzon, Weslee J. Schauers, Thor J. Stoppard, Madison M. Walsh, Alexis Warner, Zachary S. Zydek.


Students from Enumclaw, Buckley and Black Diamond qualified for the 2019 spring quarter honor roll at Central Washington University.

Undergraduate students who earn a grade-point average of 3.5 or better, on a 4.0 scale, while carrying at least 12 graded credit hours of study, are eligible for the honor roll.


Seniors: Rachel G. Daigle, Savannah Gusman, Trent Huizenga, Bill Miller, Dylan M. Miller, McKenna Molieri, Seth C. Olney, Scott A. Sanders, Chandler C. Streuli and Kyle M. Sylvain.

Juniors: Kylee Bertrand, Andrea Gaeta, Logan Garcia-Hough and Connor Holtz.

Sophomores: Megan E. Henderson, Valerie D. Herrera-Ortiz and Kidder M. McKee. Freshmen: Tanner Chase and Matt Hodgman.


Seniors: Rian J. Brooks, Bryann J. Fortin, Frank Inglin, Leah Ingold, Madison Larson, Brenna Liebel and Kayla L. Smith.

Juniors: Jordanne Fray, Mikkalah M. Irish and Jax Wetteland.

Sophomore: Audrey Higginbotham.

Freshmen: Jonah J. Hemmen, Carson J. McElroy and Emily A. Plaster.


Seniors: Anthony Androsko, Jordan D. Bruce, Melissa E. Carter, Tarik Hagen, Megan K. Hokenson, Kaitlyn Lewis, Anna Michelsen, Aili M. Moore, Elyse E. Morrow, Amanda Jo Price, Cassie Rodocker, Leena Summer and Delaney Walker.

Juniors: Zach Damerow and Victoria Shearer.


Students from the Plateau area were named to the dean’s list at the University of Washington for the winter 2019 quarter. The list was made public June 12.

To qualify for the dean’s list, students must complete at least 12 graded credits and have a grade-point average of at least 3.50.

Black Diamond: Jordan G. Crawford, sophomore.

Buckley: Hannah M. Alfano, sophomore; Aaron J. Aspelund, sophomore; Parry J. Boogard, freshman; Riley Casner, junior; Adrian Fernandez, freshman; Grant Galaviz, freshman; Audun T. Holland-Goon freshman; Delilah Bryce Kaufman, sophomore; Chloe S. Mitchell, sophomore; David P. Moleske, freshman; Kaitlyn M. Sharp, senior; Allison Siewert, freshman; Joshua C. Smith, sophomore; Nikoli S. Stevens, junior.

Enumclaw: Mackenzie M. Bull, senior; Kysa J. Bursch, senior; Benjamin Calvert, junior; Helen V. Espinoza, junior; Maria C. Garcia Figueroa, senior; Vera Grant, junior; Payton N. Hodgman, junior; Christopher J. Hogan, junior; Meagan E. Johnson, senior; Madison Mae Frances Miller, sophomore; Logan Pacey, senior; Morgan C. Pavlovich, senior; Noelle J. Putman, senior; Caritina Sanchez, junior; Colby E. Van Dyk, freshman; Preston M. Went, senior; Jake A. Westerberg, junior; Savanna L. White, junior.

Ravensdale: Mary H. Fuller, senior; Zachary J. Lowe, senior; Spencer R. Rabago, junior.


Buckley’s Grace E. Masterjohn was among those graduating from Oregon State University on Saturday, June 15.

It was the 150th commencement for the university, held in Reser Stadium on the Corvallis campus.

Masterjohn received a bachelor of science degree in agricultural sciences, graduating summa cum laude.


Douglas Bursch was among more than 900 students who received diplomas from George Fox University this spring.

The Enumclaw resident received a doctoral degree in ministry.

George Fox University, based in Newberg, Oregon, is ranked among the top Christian universities in the country.


Anna J. Harris, a resident of Enumclaw, was named to the dean’s list at Boston University for the spring semester.

Each school and college at Boston University has its own criterion for the dean’s list, but students generally must attain a 3.5 grade-point average (on a 4.0 scale) or be in the top 30 percent of their class, while taking a full course load as a full-time student.

More in News

Mom and Me offers free medical care to everyone

The mobile clinic travels south King County and east Pierce County offering myriad services. Its founders want to expand to a permanent clinic in Buckley.

Following state lead, Enumclaw to allow pit bulls

The city council unanimously agreed the ban exemptions on July 8.

Best Starts For Kids Health Survey now open | King County

How has your community changed since the Best Starts For Kids program started? Let your officials know through this survey.

Scammers claim to be King County Sheriff officials | King County

The King County Sheriff’s Office will never ask for payment over the phone.

Live music options abound this summer

There are still many concerts you can catch in Buckley and Enumclaw.

Military vets on target with trip to local archery range

Mission Outdoors aims to help veterans by organizing healthy outdoor activities.

King County Correctional Facility is located at 500 5th Ave., Seattle. File photo
King County jail’s leaky pipes have national implications

Lawsuit filed in King County Superior Court alleges Aquatherm has been selling faulty pipes.

All invited to downtown cycle rally

The second annual FXR and Bike Show is on July 20.

VoteWA is a $9.5 million program that came online last May and is meant to unify all 39 county voting systems in the state into a single entity. Courtesy image
WA’s new voting system concerns county elections officials

VoteWA has run into some problems in recent months as the Aug. 6 primary election draws closer.

Most Read