Masons pass out Junior Achievement scholarships

Enumclaw High School juniors Michelle McKinlay and Tyler Salsbury were named this year’s Ray Limbo Masonic Junior Achievement Scholarship winners at the banquet April 21.

Enumclaw High School juniors Michelle McKinlay and Tyler Salsbury were named this year’s Ray Limbo Masonic Junior Achievement Scholarship winners at the banquet April 21.

The tradition of the Mason’s selecting one boy and one junior girl from the current class of EHS juniors goes back more than four decades. This year, each winner will receive a $1,000 scholarship at graduation. Anna White and David Smith were runners-up and will receive $500.

Also in the running were Sara Mongrain, Erica Bonthuis, Hannah Kinniburgh, Timothy Dion, Justin Richenburg and Ryan Chynoweth.

McKinlay, the daughter of Scott and Debbie McKinlay, is a member of National Honor Society and is involved in student government. She also is on the Hornets’ gymnastics, dance and cheerleading squads. Away from school, she is involved in Calvary Presbyterian and Trinity Lutheran youth groups, Relay For Life, the elementary school tutoring program and other activities. She maintains a perfect 4.0 grade-point average.

She plans to attend college in the fall and study pre-medicine with the hope to become an emergency room doctor.

Salsbury, the son of Dave and Lynn Salsbury, also is a National Honor Society member, has been involved in student government and is a member of the EHS golf team.

He is a member of his church’s youth group and has participated in mission work and local community service projects.

He has a 4.0 gpa and plans to major in environmental sciences at the University of Washington.

Money for the longstanding Junior Achievement scholarship comes from the Mason’s pancake breakfast.

More in News

Group moving ahead with plans for Mount Peak tower

The Mount Peak Historical Fire Lookout Association may have to shift where the tower would be placed, and the cost is estimated at $450,000.

Pamphlets, primary ballots headed for voters’ hands

The first round of election materials are scheduled to hit the mail July 12 in Pierce County and July 17 in King County.

Don’t forget free ballot return these next two elections | Secretary of State

Postage will already be paid for ballots, meaning you no longer have to return yours to a nearby drop box for free return.

Gretler brothers: One to the Bears, one to the Beavers

The former Panthers are ready to hit the next level of baseball.

Missing hiker found on Mount Rainier

Philip Kezele, 41, went missing after being last seen July 13 at Spray Park.

Bonney Lake’s inaugural Taste@Tapps festival later this month

More than a dozen food trucks will be parked at Allan Yorke Park, along with some favorite local performers and breweries raising money for a good cause.

Proudly in defense of breastfeeding, in King County and everywhere | Public Health Insider

Patty Hayes, Director of Public Health—Seattle & King County, responded to the news that the United States government aggressively attempted to water down international support for breast-feeding through the World Health Organization.

Buckley discusses potential 83 unit apartment complex development

The conversation is taken its very first steps. But the direction council members decide to head will likely affect Buckley’s future for years to come.

State survey seeks information from SR 410 drivers

Make sure to let WSDOT know how you think traffic between Bonney Lake and Enumclaw can be improved by Sunday, July 22.

Most Read