EHS to induct 1969 football team into Hall of Fame

The Enumclaw High Hall of Fame Committee plans to induct the 1969 Hornet football team into its athletic Hall of Fame during halftime of the Jan. 27 boys basketball game at 7 p.m.

The ‘69 team finished 9-1 and earned the school’s first Seamount League football championship, tied with Sumner, with five members named first-team all-conference, four members on the second team and several members setting offensive and defensive league records.The team ended its season ranked third in state.

The committee is gathering stories, photos and other team memorabilia for the ceremony. Contact the athletic office at 360-802-7718 or e-mail

The team included: Pat Laffey, Dave Vannatter, Kyle Chevalier, Loren Anderson, Tony Conners, Rick Bathum, Steve Powell, Gary Osborne, Terry Adrian, Ted Coutts, Dan Wakefield, Ron Moeller, Bill Tuk, Rick Barry, Dave Van Hoof, Larry Cash, Carl Younkers, Dennis Crowell, Jim Ewalt, Bruce Klassen, Bill Wheeler, Tom Poe Jr., Ron Corn, Dan Dailey, Kevin Chevalier, Rich Hall, Cecil Walker, Rick Highfill, Rick Petchnick and Tony Madill.  The coaching staff consisted of Leroy Babbitt, Wes Hanson, Ben Dacus, Bob Estby, John Belcher, Ron Miller, Shelly Thiel and Bill Ainardi.


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 26
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates