Plateau area athletes receive SPSL postseason honors



Outfielder Tyler Carlson and designated hitter Kevin Nelson were named to the first team; Nelson and Bryce Peterson made the second team as pitchers and Peterson also was a second-team pick at third base; and earning honorable mention were outfielder Tyler Hoffman, catcher Cooper Wicks, first baseman Colton Lathrop and shortstop Colton McCluskey.

Water Polo

Named to the first team were Katie Larrea, Allie Larrea and Megan Lesmeister; on the second team were Annie Birklid and Hannah Kinniburgh; and receiving honorable mention was Bella Davenport. The EHS tandem of Bob Averill and Ken Deman were tabbed as Coach of the Year.


Named to the first team were catcher Courtney Cox, infielder Sarah Morrow and outfielder Jennifer Simpson; making the second team were pitcher Chloe Young, outfielder Anna Degroot and utility player Joslin Pierotti.


Receiving first-team honors were midfielder Jay Williams and defender Caleb Gwerder; on the second team were defenders Austin Walsh and Darwin Wood, midfielder Luke Olney and goalkeeper Demetri Anderson; earning honorable mention were forward Tyler Koenig and defender Hogan Olafson.


Making the all-opponent team were Rachel Norling, Hannah Smith and Rachel Holley. Rick Carel was chosen as the league’s Coach of the Year.

White River


Six White River baseball players were first-team selections when South Puget Sound League 2A postseason honors were handed out. Additionally, Mike Williams was named Coach of the Year and another three Hornets were named to the all-league second team or received honorable mention.

White River dominated the all-league infield. First-team selections were Ryan Bird at first base; Zach Howard, second base; Zach Rohrbach, third base; and Tanner Williams, shortstop. Cole Johnson was one of the three first-team pitchers and Garrett Robertson was a first-team outfielder.

Second-team picks from White River were catcher Zach McMillen and outfielder Matt Salisbury. Dustin France received honorable mention.


Forward Zak Morris was named to the all-SPSL 2A first team. Sophomore Taylor Moser was a second-team midfielder and Conner Dayton was a second team defender.


White River catcher Sam Mitchell and infielder Kayla Smith were first-team selections when coaches chose their South Puget Sound League 2A all-league fastpitch teams.

In addition, Brooklyn Isaacs was named a second-team infielder and both Sam Padilla and Shai-lee Hill received honorable mention.


White River took both places of honor, with distance runner Marcus Dickson named the Male Track Athlete of the Year and sprinter Cassidy France tabbed as the Female Track Athlete of the Year.


The Hornets’ Courtney Hall was named the South Puget Sound League 2A’s Player of the Year.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 26
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates