Enumclaw High School Hall of Fame looking for 1998 girls basketball team momentos

Gearing up for its 2013 induction ceremony, the Enumclaw High Hall of Fame Committee is looking to the public to help spread the word and, hopefully, contribute some mementos.

Entering the EHS Hall of Fame this year will be the 1998 varsity girls basketball team. The squad went 14-0 in league play to win the South Puget Sound League North championship and finished with an overall mark of 25-4. The girls earned a West Central District title and raced to three victories in the Class 4A state tournament before falling in the finale in the Kingdome to take home the second-place state trophy.

On the varsity roster were Lissa Walker, Becka Gamblin, Janae Rogers, Kristin Poe, Laura Willner, Sarah Cash, Tammy Annas, Erin Johansson, Britta Youngquist, Catherine Frerichs and Lue Turner. Coach Tim Nelson was assisted by Wally McGreen, Vic Wallace and Chuck Basteyns.

The EHS Hall of Fame Committee will host the induction ceremony Jan. 18 during halftime of a boys basketball game in Chuck Smith Gymnasium. The committee is looking for stories, photographs, team statistics, player honors or any memorabilia that can be used during the ceremony.

For more information or to make arrangements to drop off items, contact the athletic office at 360-802-7718 or email Athletic Director Kevin Smith at

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 26
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates