Enumclaw Courier-Herald


Washington horse racing Hall of Fame finalists announced for 2013

January 2, 2013 · Updated 7:01 PM

The Washington Racing Hall of Fame has announced 20 finalists in five categories eligible to win the state’s highest honor in Thoroughbred racing for 2013.

Four finalists were announced in each category*Male Horse, Female Horse, Jockey, Trainer, Breeder*with the winners to be chosen by a 16-member committee composed of media, track officials, WTBOA and HBPA. Winners will be announced in March, followed this summer by the official induction ceremony on the eve of the 78th Longacres Mile (G3).

Jockey Jack Leonard, trainers Clint Roberts and Wesley Ward, Male Horses Georgie Drum and Loto Canada, and Female Horses Reba Is Tops and Run Away Stevie all make their first appearances as Hall-of-Fame finalists.

Reba Is Tops and Run Away Stevie join Grade I winner Flag de Lune and 1979 Washington Horse of the Year Table Hands to compose the 2013 Female Horse category. By He’s Tops, Reba Is Tops began her career at Emerald Downs and later became a turf specialist, winning multiple stakes in northern and southern California en route to honors as 2009 Washington Horse of the Year. By Table Run, Run Away Stevie is the only horse to win stakes at both Emerald Downs and Longacres and is the third richest filly or mare in state history with earnings of $468,267.

Georgie Drum and Loto Canada join 12-time stakes winner Military Hawk and 1965-66 Washington Horse of the Year Travel Orb in the Male Horse category. Named after Washington Hall of Fame Breeder George Drumheller, Georgie Drum made national headlines in 1944 while defeating a star-studded field that included Kentucky Derby winner Pensive in the Stars & Stripes Handicap. Loto Canada represents one of the state’s greatest underdog stories: fledgling owners purchase inexpensive yearling after winning million-dollar lottery, colt becomes state champion 2-year-old of 1979 and is among nations top sophomores in 1980.

Jack Leonard scored Longacres Mile victories aboard Sparrow Castle (1961) and Praise Jay (1969) and captured the 1969 Longacres riding title. He joins fellow Longacres riding greats Gary Boulanger and Basil Frazier, and all-time winningest Emerald Downs jockey Gallyn Mitchell as finalists in the Jockey category.

Wesley Ward and Clint Roberts are newcomers in the trainers’ category, joining two-time Longacres Mile-winning trainer Howard Belvoir and the husband and wife tandem of Larry and Sharon Ross as 2013 finalists. A native of Selah, Ward won the 1984 Eclipse Award as Apprentice Jockey, but he grew too big for riding and instead has developed into one of the nation’s most successful trainers. With over 1,000 training victories on his ledger, Ward competes at many of the nation’s toughest meets, and in 2009 he became the first American trainer to win a stakes at England’s prestigious Royal Ascot meet. Roberts, a former rodeo star, was a dominant figure in the 1980s when his powerful claiming outfit captured Longacres training titles in 1980, ’83 and ’88.

The Breeding category alternates between pre-and-post 1970 accomplishment. Post 1970 will be honored in 2013, with Czechmate Stable, Griffin Place, Gunshy Manor and Savario Farm named finalists.

Introduced in 2003, the Washington Racing Hall of Fame is co-sponsored by Emerald Downs and the Washington Thoroughbred Breeders and Owners Association (WTBOA). The inaugural class featured three inductees in each category, while subsequent classes have been limited to a single member in each category.

2013 Washington Racing Hall of Fame Finalists

Horse: Georgie Drum, Loto Canada, Military Hawk, Travel Orb

Horse (F&M): Flag de Lune, Reba Is Tops, Run Away Stevie, Table Hands

Jockey: Gary Boulanger, Basil Frazier, Jack Leonard, Gallyn Mitchell

Trainer: Howard Belvoir, Clint Roberts, Larry & Sharon Ross, Wesley Ward

Breeder: Czechmate Stable, Griffin Place, Gunshy Manor, Savario Farm

Washington Racing Hall-of-Fame

Class of 2012: Jockey-Paul Frey; Trainer-Wayne Branch; Horse (F&M)-Rings a Chime; Horse-Hilco Scamper; Breeder-George Newell.

Class of 2011: Jockey-Vicky Baze; Trainer-Tim McCanna; Horse (F&M)-Firesweeper; Horse-Pataha Prince; Breeder-Grousemont Farm.

Class of 2010: Jockey-Joe Baze; Trainer-Bill McMeans; Horse-Biggs; Breeder-Les Turner.

Class of 2009: Jockey-Lennie Knowles; Trainer-Kathy Walsh; Horse-Sparrow Castle; Breeder-Wilbur & Marianne Stadelman.

Class of 2008: Jockey-Larry Pierce; Trainer-Glen Williams; Horse-Belle Of Rainier; Breeder-Frank Brewster.

Class of 2007: Jockey-Johnny Adams; Trainer-Red McDaniel; Horse-Peterhof’s Patea; Breeder-Dan Agnew.

Class of 2006: Jockey-Albert Johnson; Trainer-Frances Keller; Horse-Sir William; Breeder-C. J. Sebastian.

Class of 2005: Jockey-Basil James; Trainer-Bud Klokstad; Horse-Smogy Dew; Breeder-Guy & Barbara Roberts.

Class of 2004: Jockey-Russell Baze; Trainer-Charles Whittingham; Horse-Saratoga Passage, Turbulator; Breeder-George Drumheller.

Class of 2003: Jockey-Gary Baze, Ralph Neves, Gary Stevens; Trainer-Allen Drumheller, Jim Penney, Tom Smith; Horse-Captain Condo, Chinook Pass, Trooper Seven; Breeder-Herb Armstrong, Jerre Paxton.

Lifetime Achievement: Joe Gottstein (2003), Ron Crockett (2004), Pete Pedersen (2008), James Seabeck (2010), Karen & Mickey Taylor (2011), Jack Hodge (2012).

Eligibility requirements: Any Washington-bred or any horse that has raced at least twice in Washington shall be eligible for induction into the Hall of Fame. Any jockey or trainer born in Washington shall be eligible for induction into the Hall of Fame, or any jockey or trainer who has competed in at least five years in Washington shall be eligible for induction into the Hall of Fame. A female horse category was added in 2011.

Commenting Rules

© Sound Publishing, Inc.
All rights reserved.
Our Titles | Work With Us