Enumclaw jockey Gallyn Mitchell heads field of 2013 Washington Racing Hall of Fame | Horse Racing

Trainer Howard Belvoir and jockey Gallyn Mitchell head a stellar field of 2013 Washington Racing Hall of Fame inductees, Emerald Downs announced Saturday.

Military Hawk, winner of 12 stakes races and the second leading earner in state history with $686,128, was elected in the Male Horse category, and Table Hands, the 1979 Washington Horse of the Year, won the filly and mare division.

Also, longtime WTBA General Manager Ralph Vacca will be saluted for Lifetime Achievement, becoming only the seventh recipient of one of the state’s highest awards in Thoroughbred racing, and Czech-Mate Farm, breeder of eight different state champions, will be inducted in the breeding division.

The Washington Racing Hall of Fame’s 11th annual induction ceremony is Saturday, August 17, on the eve of the 78th running of the $200,000 Longacres Mile (G3).

Mitchell becomes the first jockey to make the Hall of Fame based mainly on accomplishments at Emerald Downs. The 50-year-old Mitchell*affectionately known as “Booger”*is the only jockey to ride all 18 seasons at Emerald Downs and ranks first in virtually ever major category*1,347 wins, 76 stakes wins, and $13,847,580 in earnings.

Belvoir also ranks near the top in all major training categories at Emerald Downs*No. 3 with 610 wins, No. 5 with 29 stakes wins and No. 5 with $6,252,603 in earnings. Belvoir, 69, also is the only trainer to win the Longacres Mile two straight years at Emerald Downs, accomplishing the feat with 2008 Horse of the Meeting Wasserman and 2009 Horse of the Meeting Assessment.

Military Hawk is without question one of the most durable stakes winners in Washington history, stakes-placed 37 times in an 86-race career for trainers Larry and Sharon Ross and owners George and Norma Sedlock.

A 1987 foal by Colonel Stevens-S.S. Hawk, Military Hawk won stakes at four Washington tracks*Longacres, Playfair, Yakima Meadows and Emerald Downs*and was the 1992 Washington Handicap Horse of the Year. Military Hawk also won five stakes in Northern California and one in British Columbia.

Bred by Wilbur Stadelman, Table Hands was one of the most explosive juveniles in state history. The 1979 Washington Horse of the Year, Table Hand was five-for-five that summer/fall while earning a then single-season record $219,895.

A 1977 foal by Table Run-Hold Hands, Table Hands won five stakes including the Grade 2 Del Mar Debutante, Grade 2 Hollywood Lassies Stakes, and Grade 3 Santa Ynez Stakes.

Czech-Mate Farm (John and Doris Konecny, and son Michael Konecny) was located in Enumclaw, and produced an assembly line of Washington champion, including: Flame McGoon (1988 2-year-old filly); Mahaska (1990 3-year-old filly); Handyman Bill (2003 turf horse); Infernal McGoon (2003 older filly or mare) Enumclaw Girl (2008 3-year-old filly); Quizzical (2012 3-year-old filly).

Washington Thoroughbred Racing Hall of Fame


Horses (year inducted)

Military Hawk (2013-male), Table Hands (2013-filly or mare), Hilco Scamper (2012-male), Rings a Chime (2012-filly or mare), Pataha Prince (2011-male), Firesweeper (2011-filly or mare), Biggs (2010), Sparrow Castle (2009), Belle of Rainier (2008), Peterhof’s Patea (2007), Sir William (2006), Smogy Dew (2005), Turbulator (2004), Saratoga Passage

(2004), Captain Condo (2003), Chinook Pass (2003), Trooper Seven (2003).



Gallyn Mitchell (2013), Paul Frey (2012), Vicky (Aragon) Baze (2011), Joe Baze (2010), Lennie Knowles (2009), Larry Pierce (2008), John Adams (2007), Albert Johnson (2006), Basil James (2005), Russell Baze (2004),

Gary Baze (2003), Ralph Neves (2003), Gary Stevens (2003).



Howard Belvoir (2013), Wayne Branch (2012), Tim McCanna (2011), Bill McMeans (2010), Kathy Walsh (2009), Glen Williams (2008), R.H. McDaniel (2007), Frances Keller (2006), Bud Klokstad (2005), Charles Whittingham

(2004), Allen Drumheller (2003), Jim Penney (2003), Tom Smith (2003).



Czech-Mate Farm (2013), George Newell (2012), Grousemont Farm (2011), Les Turner (2010), Wilbur & Marianne Stadelman (2009), Frank Brewster (2008), Dan Agnew (2007), C.J. Sebastian (2006), Guy & Barbara Roberts (2005), George Drumheller (2004), Herb Armstrong (2003),

Jerre Paxton (2003).


Lifetime Achievement

Ralph Vacca (2013), Jack Hodge (2012), Karen & Mickey Taylor (2011), James Seabeck (2010), Pete Pedersen (2008), Ron Crockett (2004), Joe

Gottstein (2003).


Washington Racing Hall of Fame voting is composed of 16 voters, four each from the WTBOA, HBPA, Emerald Downs and Media. There were four

finalists in each category.


2013 Washington Racing Hall of Fame Finalists

Male Horse: Georgie Drum, Loto Canada, Military Hawk, Travel Orb

Filly & Mare: Flag de Lune, Reba Is Tops, Run Away Stevie, Table Hands

Jockey: Gary Boulanger, Basil Frazier, Jack Leonard, Gallyn Mitchell

Trainer: Howard Belvoir, Clint Roberts, Larry & Sharon Ross, Wesley Ward

Breeder: Czech-Mate Farm, Griffin Place, Gunshy Manor, Savario Farm

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 19
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates