Tom Timlick winner Saturday in Emerald Qualifying Tournament

After the original first-place finisher was disqualified, runner-up Tom Timlick was declared the official winner Saturday in The Emerald Qualifying Tournament.

Eric Schweiger, perhaps best known as part owner of 2009 Washington Horse of the Year Reba is Tops, finished first with $193.00, but was later disqualified for only wagering on 24 races of the mandatory 25.

The disqualification moved Timlick into first with a total of $183.00, $11.20 more than second-place finisher David Curry with $171.80, while Shane Porter was third with $167.

Timlick’s tournament experience modeled the running style of a late-closing racehorse, staying behind the pack before charging late for the victory. That win came in the 10th and final at Emerald Downs, where Silly Streak got up in the final yards to score and paid $35.40 to win and $12.40 to place. Timlick, who had stopped watching the leader board on the Emerald Downs TV monitors after his poor start, said he knew he nailed a big payout, but still didn’t think it would be enough.

“I really didn’t think I had a chance,” Timlick said. “I got into a slump early in the day. I knew it was nice pay, but I thought I had too much ground to make up.”

Timlick earned $4,550 for finishing first, and secured a berth at the 2014 Daily Racing Form/NTRA National Handicapping Championship, presented by Racetrack Television Network, Sovereign Stable and Treasure Island. Runner-up David Curry, a New York native, also earned an invitation to the prestigious tournament, which includes complimentary airfare and hotel reservations.

Saturday’s victory was the first tournament win for Timlick, who has participated in several competitions over the past five years. Timlick, a former horse owner at Longacres, said he visits Emerald Downs twice a month during the live racing season.

Hosted on the track’s 5th floor, the EQT closed with 82 entries for a total of $18,200 in prize money.

The Top 10 finishers in the 2013 Emerald Qualifying Tournament:

Bold earned berth to the 2014 NHC.


1. Tom Timlick

2. David Curry

3. Shane Porter

4. Kirk Nishibayashi

5. Ken Bell

6. Brian Scott

7.  David Whitehouse

8.  Joseph Ursich

9.  Dave Crabill

10. Donna Dimke

*Eric Schweiger (1st), John Begley (7th) and Penny Scott (8th) were each disqualified for failing to place bets on the mandatory 25 races.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 19
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates