Carel named league MVP; Engebretsen Coach of Year

For the second time, Enumclaw High guard Riley Carel has been named the South Puget Sound League 3A Most Valuable Player.

Hornet coach Phil Engebretsen was named Coach of the Year for the second straight year.

Teammate Tarren VanTrojen joins Carel on the first-team. Andre Winston of Lakes, Tana Pritchard of Clover Park and Anthony Bowden and Isaiah Hamlin, both of Franklin Pierce, round out the first team.

Enumclaw’s Jayson Lewis and Taylor Myers, and Bonney Lake’s Nathan Braun, received second-team all-league honors.

Honorable Mention went to Chad Sayler, Billy Kiel and Jason Tyler of White River, Mike Murphy of Sumner, Chad Marquez of Bonney Lake and Coleman Clyde of Enumclaw.

Sumner High earned Band of the Year honors.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 19
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates