Enumclaw needs Reagan Dunn as our King County Council member

Enumclaw’s mayor, entire city council endorses Dunn for council position

EDITOR’S NOTE: Per tradition, the Courier-Herald will not publish any letters to the editor related to the Aug. 3 primary election in the July 28 edition, because there would not be enough time for other letter-writers to rebut them.

You may recognize us as your elected officials, but we are writing today as your friends and neighbors, speaking as such.

It seems that most political discourse has devolved into a partisan shouting match. Metropolitan King County Council Member Reagan Dunn is a voice of common sense and the steady leader that Enumclaw needs right now on the King County Council. Reagan has earned his reputation as a respected regional leader with a track record of advocacy and support for the City of Enumclaw and all plateau residents.

In a time when so much is changing throughout the county, losing Reagan Dunn on the King County Council would only serve to diminish the voice of our community at an already Seattle-centric Council.

A prime example of this is Reagan’s approach to law enforcement and public safety. As a former federal prosecutor who has fought for safer neighborhoods and cleaner streets, his political opponents stand for defunding our criminal justice system and openly advocate for heroin injection sites in our neighborhoods.

While we want to act with compassion and grace when tackling the issues facing our county, we cannot be left to drift in the political tides of the day.

This is why we have endorsed Reagan, with his extensive experience, balanced perspective, practicality-over-politics mindset, and established relationships with Enumclaw and the rural community, to continue working for us at King County.

Please join us in voting and supporting King County Council Member Reagan Dunn as he continues to represent Enumclaw’s priorities.

Mayor Jan Molinaro

Council Member Corrie Koopman Frazier

Council Member Beau Chavassus

Council Member Kael Johnson

Council Member Chance La Fleur

Council Member Thomas Sauvageau

Council Member Anthony Wright

Council Member Hoke Overland