Coach Alda McNeeley, ‘08 girls’ golf and ‘12 gymnastics teams will join EHS Hall of Fame

The ceremony is scheduled for Feb. 9.

A pair of state title-winning teams and one longtime Hornet coach will soon be welcomed into the Enumclaw High School Athletic Hall of Fame.

Joining the list of athletes, coaches and contributors in the school’s storied sporting history will be the 2008 girls’ golf team, the 2012 gymnastics squad and groundbreaking coach Alda McNeeley.

The group will be inducted the evening of Thursday, Feb. 9, during halftime of a girls’ basketball game between EHS and White River High. Ceremonies will take place on the court in Chuck Smith Gymnasium.

This will mark the first induction ceremony at EHS following a two-year hiatus.

The gymnastics team caught everyone’s attention due to the rousing success it experienced from the earliest stages. The program was launched for the 2010-11 winter season and, in its debut campaign, placed second at the state meet, barely missing out on a Class 2A/3A title.

Things only improved during Year 2 under coach Ben Skipworth when Enumclaw emerged No. 1 at state, competing in the Tacoma Dome’s exhibition hall.

Heading that Hall of Fame-bound team were Olivia (Bannerot) Fults and Maddison Ward, who placed second and third, respectively, during all-around competition in Tacoma. They were joined in state success by teammates Molly Matteis, Michelle McKinlay, Emily (Berte) West and Erica (Bonthuis) Johnson.

The 2008 girls’ golf program was a dynamo under the leadership of coach Bob Kilmer.

Tackling the Shuksan Golf Course in Bellingham, the Enumclaw girls brought top state honors home to EHS.

Making up the state varsity roster were Mara (Koplitz) Rogan, Katya Case, Jillian (Parker) Murrell, Mallory Paschich, Torey Schreiner and Shannon (Henry) McCoy.

McNeeley began her Enumclaw career in the fall of 1972, eventually dedicating 38 years to students as a teacher, coach and adviser at both the high school and junior high/middle school level.

Notably, the early days of her career coincided with the passage of Title IX, which opened the door for the rise of athletic programs for females.

During her first year with the district McNeeley served as adviser for the Girls Athletic Association, supporting after-school programs for girls at the junior high. That same year, she was asked to launch a girls’ track and field program at Enumclaw High.

Another first came in 1976 when she started the girls’ volleyball program at the junior high school, a coaching position she held until her 2010 retirement. Additionally, McNeeley was the head track coach at Enumclaw Middle School for more than 15 years and was an assistant basketball and soccer coach as well.


The current EHS Athletic Hall of Fame roster looks like this, listed by year of induction.

1998-1999: Wes Borreson, Frank Lancaster, Frank Osborne, Gary Radliff, Tommy Thompson.

2000-01: 1915 basketball team, 1936 football team, 1937 basketball team, 1977 baseball team.

2001-02: Charles J. (Chuck) Smith, Robert D. Campbell, Tom Poe Jr., 1982 golf team, Resa (Watterson) Bolton.

2002-03: 1930-31 boys basketball team, Doug Dickson, 1933-34 football team, Fred West, 1988-89 girls swim/dive team.


1989 girls tennis team, Guy Hanson, Sheldon (Shelly) Thiel, Ed Annas Wozeniak, Harold Lokovsek.

2004-05: Ray DeJong, Mary (Anderson) Holland, Whitney (Sleigh) Jorgenson, Ron Miller, Joy (Harmon) Safakish.

2005-06: Neil Balsley, Dick Kovacevich, Charles Basteyns, 1978 state champion girls’ 800-meter relay team, Lewis Lobdell.

2006-07: 1958 boys basketball team, Vance Spangler, Dale Ehler, Rob Paschich.

2007-08: 1984 state champion 200 medley relay team, Dan Shannon, Ed Stricherz, Gary Sambila.

2008-09: 1985 slowpitch team, Dale Blad, Dave Van Hoof.

2009-10: Pele (Houk) Godkin, Kevin Knutson.

2010-11: Kevin Abramson, Rich Hall, Tori (Hall) Ammons, Alan Hall, Warren Lokovsek.

2011-12: 1969 football team.

2012-13: 1998 girls basketball team.

2013-14: Dennis Hagan, Sue Fallen-Campanoli.

2014-15: Tim Tubbs.

2015-16: Mike Hanson, Dorothy (Lokovsek) Sleigh.

2017: Lee Reichert.

2018: Jeremy Oliver, Jill (Callero) Mestler.

2019: Bill Hawk.

2020: Ty Watterson, Allison (Tubbs) Mandi.