EHS’ Neu named SPSL 2A MVP, others make all-state

Six Enumclaw Hornets were honored by SPSL 2A with all-state recognition.

Six members of the successful Enumclaw High football team earned all-state recognition from the Washington State Football Coaches Association.

In January, the WSFCA selected all-state teams for all classifications. It’s the first time the organization has tackled the task and takes the place of a process formerly handled by the Associated Press.

The state’s coaches posted a first-team, all-state, Class 2A group that included the following Enumclaw High seniors: Karson Holt, linebacker; Ryan Fehr, offensive line; Riley Rutledge, punter; and Wyatt Neu, athlete. Also making the all-state list were juniors Ryker Popke, defensive line, and Dac Harrell, defensive back.

The six honorees had earlier been recognized during a vote of league coaches. Neu was named SPSL 2A Most Valuable Player, Fehr was tabbed as Offensive Lineman of the Year, Popke was the league’s Defensive Lineman of the Year, Rutledge was Special Teams Player of the Year and both Holt and Harrell were first team, all-league selections.

Those honors capped a fall football season in which the Hornets went undefeated during the regular season, earned a league championship and advanced to the semifinal round of the Class 2A state playoffs.

Neu will be headed to Caldwell, Idaho, next fall to play football (and lacrosse) for the College of Idaho. The Coyotes are an NAIA college and compete in the Frontier Conference.