Dieringer Heights opens registration

Dieringer Heights opens registration

Dieringer Heights opens registration

Dieringer Heights Elementary will host an early-childhood registration March 26.

Staff members will be available to discuss program options for students entering pre-kindergarten, kindergarten or pre-first grade for the 2009-10 school year.

Parents and guardians who plan on registering their students are asked to call the school office at 253-826-4937 for more information. This will allow the school to have registration forms for the school year. Dieringer Heights Elementary is located at 21727 34th St. E. in Lake Tapps. Its Web site is www.dieringer.wednet.edu.

Dykman earns principal’s award

Victor Falls Elementary Principal Beth Dykman has been selected as a regional Distinguished Principal for the 2008-2009 school year. She is one of 18 principals throughout the Pierce County region to win the nomination.

“It is just an honor because it comes directly from my peers,” she said.

“Under her leadership, Victor Falls has been named a School of Distinction for the past two years,” said Mike McCartin, principal of Maple Lawn Elementary. “This award recognizes and celebrates outstanding improvement in student academic growth. Schools of Distinction represent the top 5 percent in our state that have shown progress in raising student achievement in both reading and math during a six-year period.”

Dykman has been a principal for 10 years and has served four of those at Victor Falls.

“Beth is a leader in the Sumner School District with the school’s response to intervention efforts at Victor Falls,” said Sumner School District Superintendent Gil Mendoza.

 The regional, state and national Distinguished Principals Programs serve to honor exemplary elementary and middle school principals who set the pace, character, and quality of the education children receive during their early school years according to Communications Director Ann Cook.

Dkyman will be honored at an October conference in Yakima sponsored by the Elementary School Principals Association of Washington (ESPAW) and the Association of Washington School Principals, where one principal will be chosen from each of the 50 states and the District of Columbia.

Although Dykman said she was honored, she could not have received the award without the help of her peers and co-workers, she said.

“It is an honor to be recognized – not only for my work but for the work of others,” she said. “We have a very good staff.”

Reach Judy Halone at jhalone@courierherald.com or 360-802-8210.

More in News

Crashed plane in Burnett, two injured

The Pierce County Sheriff Department said the plane lost power after taking off.

First family officially moves into Ten Trails

It was hard for the McFaddens to find a home, with houses flying off the market within days, even hours. So they told their agent to stop looking at what’s already been built, and start searching for what is going to be built, leading a family of six to the Black Diamond development.

King County Fair begins four-day run; Saturday brings handcars, parade to Wilkeson

The longest-running county fair west of the Mississippi River is back with some old favorites and new attractions.

White River’s Hawthorne earns spot in Virginia leadership camp

Hawthorne earned his Academy slot by virtue of his accomplishments both on and off the wrestling mat.

Toxic algae warning in Lake Tapps

Be careful swimming in the northeastern part of the lake.

State survey seeks information from SR 410 drivers

Make sure to let WSDOT know how you think traffic between Bonney Lake and Enumclaw can be improved by Sunday, July 22.

Sehr gut: Enumclaw student to spend senior year in Germany

Macie Bosik is excited to break the mould and do something different for her last year of high school.

EHS harriers pitching in with community service

The Hornet Team recently helped with the Miner’s Day 5K run in Black Diamond, and will be moving on to other projects later this summer.

Group moving ahead with plans for Mount Peak tower

The Mount Peak Historical Fire Lookout Association may have to shift where the tower would be placed, and the cost is estimated at $450,000.

Most Read