Panthers and Spartans make it onto SPSL All-Conference football team

The South Puget Sound League all-conference football teams for 2012 have been announced and both the Bonney Lake and Sumner programs are well-represented, including a Spartan iron man named a top player on both sides of the ball.

The South Puget Sound League all-conference football teams for 2012 have been announced and both the Bonney Lake and Sumner programs are well-represented, including a Spartan iron man named a top player on both sides of the ball.

In the SPSL 2A, several Spartans found their way to conference honors including junior offensive lineman Austin Stripland earned double duty top honors as Offensive Lineman of the Year and Defensive Player of the year.

Striplin’s fellow offensive lineman Marc Cissneros joined him on the first-team offense, as did sophomore wide receiver Austin Gregg and senor running back Lokahi Kamau.

Senior running back DeJon Lynch and senior tight end Ryan Taylor were named to the second team offense and sophomore quarterback Chase Torginson and senior offensive lineman Jordan Wenger earned honorable mentions.

Joining linebacker Striplin on the first team defense are senior defensive lineman Connor Mott and senior defensive back Jeremy Jackson.

Jackson also received an honorable mention for his work as a linebacker, as did defensive linemen Bryson Tuilepa and Zach Summers and defensive back Brandon Tuilepa.

The Spartans finished the year 9-3 and advanced to the quarterfinals in the state tournament, losing to eventual champion Lynden.

In the SPSL 3A the Bonney Lake Panthers placed three on the first team offense, including Junior running back E.J. Harris, who was named Offensive Back of the Year.

Joining Harris on the first team offense is senior wide receiver Zach Zaragosa and junior offensive lineman Stefan Land.

Senior quarterback Chris Brown was named to the second-team offense along with senior wide receiver Robert Combs.

Wide receivers Logan Coutts, Bryce Peterson and Kaleb Zahnow each received an honorabl emention, as did offensive linemen Cameron Goener, Brandon Kilstrom and Ryan Chapman also received honorable mentions.

No Panther defenders made the first team defense though Kilstrom earned a spot on the second team for his work on the defensive line.

Fellow lineman Marcos Rodriguez, linebackers T.J. Potts, Cormac Carroll, Gordon Nelson and Harris, as well as defensive backs Cody Selle, Clayton Smith, Travios Mayer and Coutts also received honorable mentions.

Brown also was named to the second team for his duty as a punter and kicker Tyler John got an honorable mention.

In addition to the players, Panther assistant coaches Joe Ireland and David Stokke were named co-Assistant Coach of the Year.

The Panthers finished the season 3-6.

More in Sports

Spartans: More victories in the works

Last year’s Sumner High girls basketball team didn’t experience the thrill of victory all that often, winning just five of 20 games, but a flock of returning players should help turn the tide.

WR: Girls still loaded with talent, boys replacing key players

The White River Hornet girls team never seem to need an overhaul, just some annual tinkering with quality, familiar parts.

BL boys, girls, show signs of moving up in standings

The Panther boys are already on the prowl, looking to improve upon a break-even performance a season ago.

Winter season in full swing at Enumclaw High

The Hornets have participated in a pair of four-team gymnastics meets so far. They will compete again Wednesday hosting Federal Way, Kennedy Catholic and Mount Rainier at PEAK Gymnastics in Enumclaw.

Plenty of experience on EHS hoop rosters

Members of the Enumclaw High boys basketball team will be looking to continue their upward trajectory, building upon last season’s success.

White River wrestlers top foes

The White River High gymnasium was the place to be Dec. 6, as some of the state’s top wrestling teams – and a handful of highly-ranked individuals – gathered for a night of competition.

Fall athletes earn all-league honors

With the fall sports season in the books, coaches throughout the region have selected their all-league teams. Here’s a look at the honored athletes, and a few coaches, from the four area high schools.

Panther pair sign with college programs

A pair of Bonney Lake High School seniors formalized their athletic futures during a Nov. 22 signing ceremony at the school.

Hornet runners compete in Seattle Half-Marathon

Five area athletes, all members of the White River High School cross country program, ventured north Nov. 26 to run the Seattle Half-Marathon.

Most Read