Opinion

Public will have to halt party bickering

“Whoever digs a pit will fall into it, and a stone will come back on him who starts it rolling” (Proverbs 26:27). This ancient Hebrew proverb brings to mind the current Republican-controlled Congress and its 60 or so past attempts to destroy Obamacare.

 

Seems a simple solution fell through Olympia’s cracks

Everyone understands the problem. No one opposes the solution.

  • Mar 22nd, 2017

 

Our rights were assured by English battles

How would you feel if you witnessed the aftermath of a shooting of a black man by two white police officers in your yard? This happened last year to my cousin. That event brought her sleepless nights, pain, conflicting emotions and confusion.

  • Mar 17th, 2017

 

Don’t mix business with religious beliefs

I am responding to Richard Elfers’ opinion column regarding whether or not people should be allowed to disobey the law based on their own religious beliefs.

  • Mar 16th, 2017

Policy-making or political posturing?

As the ruling majority in the state Senate, Republicans can bring up pretty much what they want on the floor when they please.

Urge adequate funding for our national parks

On March 2, 1899, President McKinley signed legislation creating a 365-square-mile national park, the fifth ever designated by Congress.

  • Mar 14th, 2017

Goal is to live, love and leave a legacy

From the age of 10, my life was chaotic.

Business owners must treat everyone equally

So Richard Elfers now wants us to go back to the days of separate-but-equal in regards to civil rights.

  • Mar 10th, 2017

Political drama in Tacoma courtroom

The next episode in a political drama sparked by President Donald Trump’s election was take place in a Tacoma office building Friday.

Concerned with USPS mailbox regulations

Today I got a notice in the mailbox informing me my mailbox was out of compliance because it was 33 inches from the ground to the bottom of the mailbox (it is supposed to be at least 45 inches).

  • Mar 3rd, 2017

State should protect business owners

Barronelle Stutzman’s “relationship with Jesus Christ” doesn’t give her the freedom to turn down business – even if that business violates her personal beliefs. Or so said a Benton County Superior Court judge in his decision against her in 2013.

Doctor, people like you will make us great again

The last few weeks have been depressing with the direction our country is moving. However, we read a letter to the editor (Courier-Herald, Feb. 8) from Dr. David Schumer from Auburn.

  • Feb 24th, 2017

School funding battle continues

This may surprise you but one thing legislative leaders and the governor agree on is that new taxes are needed to help cover the state’s unpaid tab for public schools.

We are what remains of American treasure

There is a small restaurant on 6th Avenue in Tacoma called the Southern Kitchen. It is African-American owned and been there for decades.

  • Feb 22nd, 2017

How much slack do we give Trump?

How much slack should the American public give to a new president? How much should they give to a president who has never served in government or the military?

In four years, we can judge Trump efficiency

There was an irony in recent letters to the editor (Feb. 8) that was not lost on me. One was appalled at the apparently foregone conclusion that there would soon be 10 million uninsured people in our country (repealing Obamacare), while the other seemed to suggest we continue to indiscriminately let hundreds of thousands of uninsured people into our country?

  • Feb 22nd, 2017

Black Diamond should pay for council defense

The city is supposed to insure and indemnify and protect employees and officers for any act performed while doing their duty. We need this protection for our council members.

  • Feb 16th, 2017

Olympia aiming to give a civics lesson

Maybe it’s the constitutional scrap incited by the McCleary school funding decision. Maybe it’s the constitutional commotion ignited by President Donald Trump’s travel ban executive order.

We need Congress to act like adults

There are at least four major ways to interpret the Constitution and numerous varieties in between: originalism, textualism, fundamental principles and modernism.

Stay on the side of the morally upright

By writing this letter, I am speaking up to encourage an examination of two recent immigration decisions either being considered or already made by President Trump.

  • Feb 9th, 2017

Bipartisan plan introduced to change cap on property taxes

The target is the 1 percent cap on property tax hikes which voters embraced and legislators etched into law a decade ago in spite of concerns it would weaken a historic pillar of financing that cities, counties and the state rely upon.

We’re expecting too much from our public schools

During the late 1940s and 1950s, Americans feared nuclear war.

  • Feb 7th, 2017

Change coming quickly, but will we like it?

Change is in the air. President Trump is in the midst of seeking to fulfill his campaign promises as quickly as possible. His supporters are hopeful that our new president will shake up Washington and restore greatness to America.

Talking Trump, one issue at a time

In his first week, President Donald Trump is effecting quite a bit of change in the climate and landscape of Washington politics.

Sometimes an answer is very simple

The reinstating and revoking of the “Global Gag Rule” on abortion can probably be considered an American tradition, having been reinstated and revoked a total of six times since it first came about in 1984.

Once gone, trust is difficult to rebuild

How important is trust to you? It is very important to me. At one point in my life, I discovered that a person I trusted completely had lied to me. Once trust is lost, it is very difficult to restore.

  • Jan 27th, 2017

School funding problem returns to Olympia

As of today, Wednesday, there are only 90-plus days remaining in the regular session, even less when you figure lawmakers won’t work many weekends.

Buzzfeed clearly made the wrong call

The bad apple spoils the bunch. It’s a general rule that applies to a whole bunch of situations, from religion to politics to civil rights. This last week, Buzzfeed stepped up to fill the role of the bad apple for the media.

Next HHS Secretary Must Continue Progress in Alzheimer’s Battle

The Senate will soon hold hearings to determine if Georgia Congressman Tom Price will be our country’s next Secretary of Health and Human Services. As HHS Secretary, this cabinet position has a direct impact on how the Trump Administration prioritizes the fight to end Alzheimer’s, a cause close to my heart.

  • Jan 20th, 2017

Trump will be frustrated by limitation on power

Contrary to popular belief, the Supreme Court is not the only branch with the power to interpret the Constitution.

  • Jan 19th, 2017

Ray Conner leaves our region a better place

When Boeing Commercial Airplanes CEO Ray Conner recently announced his decision to retire at the end of next year it was more than just a well-earned and significant milestone, it was another step in a historic career for the highly respected Puget Sound born-and-raised leader.

  • Jan 17th, 2017

Living with pets, learning about ourselves

What do dogs and cats tell us about ourselves? These two creatures are the most popular pets among people around the world. Did you ever wonder why?

  • Jan 17th, 2017

Final Planned Parenthood report issued, but future still cloudy

A politically contentious investigation by Congressional Republicans into the practices of Planned Parenthood and procuring of fetal tissue for research quietly concluded last week.

Do you live in the past, present or the future?

In the late 1960s to the early 1970s when I was a youth, I belonged to a very strict religious organization that prophesized the imminent return of Christ, and the destruction of the United States.

Washington fulfills election expectations

This wasn’t a very good year for many of the nation’s venerable pollsters and pundits as they got trumped by fake news and fiery tweets.

RE: the ongoing Black Diamond controversy

Not having been in attendance at any of the meetings but having seen similar situations play out, I’d like to offer a couple of comments on what I have read in your columns and letters to the editor.

  • Jan 5th, 2017

Incoming president’s strength is his unpredictable nature

“Trump makes people uncomfortable. It’s what he does best, in fact. But how this quality applies to foreign policy is a question that merits deeper exploration than knee-jerk displays of stricken disbelief.”

Democratic power play is under way

A fierce fight is under way for the top leadership post of the Washington state Democratic Party.

No doubt, we live in interesting times

Have you noticed since the results of the Nov. 8 election, we have experienced shifting paradigms?

  • Dec 27th, 2016

Christmas should be about friends and families

Christmas used to be so easy as a kid

Times are a-changin’ – once again

Liberalism vs. conservatism has been replaced by globalization vs. nationalism in America today. At least that is what George Friedman asserts in his Nov. 30, 2016, “Friedman’s Weekly” article entitled, “Nationalism, Internationalism and the New Politics.”

Feminism really is for everybody | Point of Review

“I don’t like feminism,” my neighbor told me after I showed him…

Mass media must stop leaning to the left

I got a kick out of Rich Elfers’ column of Nov. 23 trying to explain to a Seattle Times columnist why Black Diamond and Enumclaw were pro-Trump in contrast to the rest of King County.

  • Dec 15th, 2016

Inslee’s education budget goes on display

Officially, Gov. Jay Inslee’s second term doesn’t get under way for another month. Practically, it begins this week when he releases his proposed budget for the 2017-19 biennium.

Mayor is the real problem in Black Diamond

Recently Yarrow Bay/Oak Pointe spent money on a favor for the Mayor to file a lawsuit against the city of Black Diamond, which she was glad about. Since when does a mayor welcome a lawsuit against her own city?

  • Dec 13th, 2016

Offering perspective on proposed stormwater utility

In Enumclaw, our stormwater ends up in the White and Green rivers. We all have an interest in protecting these waters from pollutants like parking lot runoff with antifreeze, oil and transmission fluid in it.

  • Dec 9th, 2016

Good government requires active citizens

“No new utility taxes!” That was the mantra of several businesses during…

  • Dec 8th, 2016

Holiday shopping etiquette…

…or anyday etiquette.

  • Dec 7th, 2016

Words have power to divide a nation

“Sticks and stones may break my bones, but words will never hurt me.”

  • Dec 6th, 2016