Opinion

web1_000000-ECH-Jerry-Cornfield-Teaser

Grateful for the world of politics

With Thanksgiving still a warm memory, we take a few moments to consider those with reason to be thankful for what transpired this past election season.

 

web1_Letters-Teaser

Pet owners grateful for prompt police response

The wonderful thing to come out of all this is a profoundly new appreciation for the helpfulness and kindness of our police.

  • Nov 30th, 2016

 

web1_000000-ECH-Rich-Elfers-Teaser

Two cities offer a bit of red in a sea of blue

48.7 percent of Enumclaw voters chose Trump over Clinton, who received 43.8 percent.

 

web1_000000-ECH-Jerry-Cornfield-Teaser

‘Roadkill Caucus’ on the way back?

Will the Roadkill Caucus be reborn in 2017? This is not idle…

web1_000000-ECH-Jerry-Cornfield-Teaser
web1_Letters-Teaser

Trump much more moral, honest than Clinton | Letter to the Editor

I don’t believe in PolitiFacts, fact finding groups or any polls.

  • Nov 21st, 2016
web1_Letters-Teaser
web1_000000-ECH-Rich-Elfers-Teaser

Trump’s message appealed to the ignored majority

Donald Trump won with a message of hope and change. Ironic as…

web1_000000-ECH-Rich-Elfers-Teaser
web1_000000-ECH-Beckley_mug_TEASER

Electoral College worked as designed

We are still a republic of sovereign states.

web1_000000-ECH-Beckley_mug_TEASER
web1_000000-ECH-Ana-Karen-Teaser

Walking in the shoes of immigrants | Our Corner

I am one of the lucky few who became a citizen, and I can honestly say I am the American dream.

web1_000000-ECH-Ana-Karen-Teaser
web1_000000-ECH-Rich-Elfers-Teaser

Tough road to understanding our own bias

Are you a victim of the Dunning-Kruger Effect? Did you engage in confirmation bias during this political season?

web1_000000-ECH-Rich-Elfers-Teaser
web1_000000-ECH-Jerry-Cornfield-Teaser

Democratic PAC aims for Senate

A super PAC supporting Democratic Gov. Jay Inslee has redirected hundreds of thousands of dollars from the governor’s race into getting more Democrats elected to the Legislature.

web1_000000-ECH-Jerry-Cornfield-Teaser
web1_000000-ECH-Jerry-Cornfield-Teaser

Talking about words and meaning | Rich Elfers

“Patriotically correct”? A new right-wing term to compete with the left-wing “politically correct”? Actually, no. Some Donald Trump conservatives have come up with the new catchword to describe their position. Understanding the origin of the terms can give us an insight into the thinking of some on the right in this highly-charged election year.

web1_000000-ECH-Jerry-Cornfield-Teaser

Hour glass about empty for Bryant | Jerry Cornfield

Republican Bill Bryant is running out of time in his quest to become Washington's next governor.

Hour glass about empty for Bryant | Jerry Cornfield

Republican Bill Bryant is running out of time in his quest to become Washington’s next governor.

Our Corner

Please let it all end very soon | Our Corner

I feel like a high school kid again. Like I have a big test in the morning that I’m not prepared for but, wait, hope is on the horizon. The forecast called for snow, so I’m going to pray for snow – please snow, I’ll do anything just let it snow.

Our Corner
Our Corner

Please let it all end very soon | Our Corner

I feel like a high school kid again. Like I have a big test in the morning that I’m not prepared for but, wait, hope is on the horizon. The forecast called for snow, so I’m going to pray for snow – please snow, I’ll do anything just let it snow.

Our Corner

Current political nastiness isn’t new | Rich Elfers

Surreal seems to be the proper word to describe this current presidential election cycle, whatever your political party. There have been accusations of it being rigged, with two highly distrusted and unpopular candidates each accusing the other of lying. There are revelations through damaging videos, past sex scandals, members of one political party publicly bailing on their prime candidate, an illegal email server, embarrassing WikiLeaks hacks and accusations of Russian interference.

  • Oct 26th, 2016 by

All leaders need integrity | Rich Elfers

Get ready – I am going to mix religion and politics in this column.

  • Oct 21st, 2016 by
4674534_web1_10-11-16-King-A

Undecided: Neither candidate is the answer | Lady and the Trump

Choice is a dubious notion to begin with. Most Americans feel their choices are becoming slimmer.

  • Oct 19th, 2016
4674534_web1_10-11-16-King-A
4674457_web1_10-11-16-King-A

Trump: Time for a blunt president to unite our country | Lady and the Trump

Donald Trump is the best choice for president.

  • Oct 19th, 2016
4674457_web1_10-11-16-King-A
The presidential race has been anything than civil. Reporter cartoon

Clinton: Her beliefs, experience make her the right choice | Lady and the Trump

So often in this unusual presidential debate we have come across apologetic endorsements. People who support Trump or Hillary but only to avoid endorsing the other candidate or because "their" candidate did not win their party nomination.

  • Oct 19th, 2016
The presidential race has been anything than civil. Reporter cartoon

Has the presidential debates changed how you will

Republican Bill Bryant is running out of time in his quest to become Washington's next governor.

  • Oct 19th, 2016
The presidential race has been ugly

Undecided: Neither candidate is the answer | Lady and the Trump

Choice is a dubious notion to begin with. Most Americans feel their choices are becoming slimmer. Do we really have a choice anymore to refuse the disproportionally crippling and life-denying debt needed to advance our life goals? No. Do we and our families have or have ever had a choice to pay taxes? No – but wealthy tax cheats and large corporations do. And more importantly, do our votes really count in the way of affecting every level of representative government?

  • Oct 19th, 2016
The presidential race has been ugly
The presidential race has been ugly

Trump: Time for a blunt president to unite our country | Lady and the Trump

Over the past eight years, we have become a divided country. We are on the verge of race wars. We need a leader who can unite us. We have become an international laughing stock. Our allies don't trust us and our enemies don't fear us. Trump will reverse this.

  • Oct 19th, 2016
The presidential race has been ugly
The presidential race has been ugly

Clinton: Her beliefs, experience make her the right choice | Lady and the Trump

So often in this unusual presidential debate we have come across apologetic endorsements. People who support Trump or Hillary but only to avoid endorsing the other candidate or because "their" candidate did not win their party nomination.

  • Oct 19th, 2016
The presidential race has been ugly
4662401_web1_160506-ECH-Letter-Bug_1

More reasons to vote no on Sound Transit | Letter to the Editor

A previous letter (Courier-Herald, Sept. 21) gave us an overview of the tax environment in the Washington State mentioning the upcoming ballot wherein Sound Transit is floating a $54 billion initiative to extend their train and transit system.

  • Oct 14th, 2016
4662401_web1_160506-ECH-Letter-Bug_1
4654056_web1_160506-ECH-Letter-Bug_1

Defining evil in this presidential election | Letter to the Editor

In a well-known book, "People of the Lie: The Hope for Healing Human Evil" (1983), psychiatrist M. Scott Peck explored the nature of evil from his distinctly religious as well as psychological perspective.

  • Oct 13th, 2016
4654056_web1_160506-ECH-Letter-Bug_1

President’s foreign policy not perfect, but not a failure | Rich Elfers

"Obama's Middle Eastern foreign policy is a failure." So says the Republican Party during this overheated election year. The problem with this statement is that it is patently false. It is political rhetoric meant to discredit the Democrats and help the Republicans retain control of Congress and gain the presidency.

  • Oct 13th, 2016 by

President’s foreign policy not perfect, but not a failure | Rich Elfers

"Obama's Middle Eastern foreign policy is a failure." So says the Republican Party during this overheated election year. The problem with this statement is that it is patently false. It is political rhetoric meant to discredit the Democrats and help the Republicans retain control of Congress and gain the presidency.

4568341_web1_160329-ECH-Our-Corner-Web-Bug_1

Falling back on the Constitution | Our Corner

Well hasn't this election cycle been a sloppy bucket of fun.

4568341_web1_160329-ECH-Our-Corner-Web-Bug_1

Do former President Clinton’s past affairs affect

Get ready – I am going to mix religion and politics in this column.

  • Oct 12th, 2016
Our Corner

Falling back on the Constitution | Our Corner

Well hasn't this election cycle been a sloppy bucket of fun.

Our Corner
4250371_web1_160506-ECH-Letter-Bug_1

Pay more, get less from Sound Transit | Letter to the Editor

This upcoming election will give citizens an opportunity to vote on the largest local tax increase in this country's history.

  • Oct 10th, 2016
4250371_web1_160506-ECH-Letter-Bug_1
Letters to the Editor

Pay more, get less from Sound Transit | Letter to the Editor

This upcoming election will give citizens an opportunity to vote on the largest local tax increase in this country's history.

  • Oct 10th, 2016
Letters to the Editor
4310338_web1_160329-ECH-Our-Corner-Web-Bug_1

Don’t be afraid of the unknown | Our Corner

One year ago, I did the most terrifying thing I have ever done. I moved to a new city without a plan.

  • Oct 6th, 2016
4310338_web1_160329-ECH-Our-Corner-Web-Bug_1
Our Corner

Don’t be afraid of the unknown | Our Corner

One year ago, I did the most terrifying thing I have ever done. I moved to a new city without a plan.

Our Corner

Voting from frustration and loss of faith | Rich Elfers

I can tell something bothers me when I wake up thinking about it. That happened after the first presidential debate between Republican Donald Trump and Democrat Hillary Clinton.

  • Oct 5th, 2016 by

Voting from frustration and loss of faith | Rich Elfers

I can tell something bothers me when I wake up thinking about it. That happened after the first presidential debate between Republican Donald Trump and Democrat Hillary Clinton.

Verbal miscues can cause heat | Jerry Cornfield

It was the sort of loose locution one might reflexively associate with Republican Donald Trump this election season. Except this eye-opening utterance came from Democratic Gov. Jay Inslee in the early minutes of his televised debate with Bill Bryant, his Republican opponent.

  • Oct 4th, 2016

Verbal miscues can cause heat | Jerry Cornfield

It was the sort of loose locution one might reflexively associate with Republican Donald Trump this election season. Except this eye-opening utterance came from Democratic Gov. Jay Inslee in the early minutes of his televised debate with Bill Bryant, his Republican opponent.

Attorney general fights weapons | Jerry Cornfield

Attorney General Bob Ferguson insists politics isn't driving his call for a ban on the sale of semiautomatic, military-style assault weapons during the 2017 legislative session.

Work can get done in government | Rich Elfers

One of the criticisms of government is that nothing much gets accomplished. I served on the Enumclaw City Council for a four-year term. Now, nearly five years later, I reflect on what was accomplished both during my term and what has been accomplished in the five years since. I discovered there are lessons to be learned from looking back.

  • Sep 29th, 2016 by

Work can get done in government | Rich Elfers

One of the criticisms of government is that nothing much gets accomplished. I served on the Enumclaw City Council for a four-year term. Now, nearly five years later, I reflect on what was accomplished both during my term and what has been accomplished in the five years since. I discovered there are lessons to be learned from looking back.

A look at the life of newspapers | Our Corner

You're looking at a brand new Courier-Herald.

Our Corner

A look at the life of newspapers | Our Corner

You're looking at a brand new Courier-Herald. Well, actually, you'll need to go to www.courierherald.com to see what's new, because we are revamping the newspaper's website in the near future.

  • Sep 28th, 2016
Our Corner
4046555_web1_Our_Corner

United we stand, with locked arms | Our Corner

Let me preface this column by saying, I know there will be people who disagree with me. That doesn't make you wrong and that doesn't make me wrong. It just means our opinion and points of view differ.

  • Sep 23rd, 2016
4046555_web1_Our_Corner
Our Corner

United we stand, with locked arms | Our Corner

Let me preface this column by saying, I know there will be people who disagree with me. That doesn't make you wrong and that doesn't make me wrong. It just means our opinion and points of view differ.

Our Corner
4038126_web1_160506-ECH-Letter-Bug_1

Every election at every level is important | Letter to the Editor

This election cycle, the state Senate, Legislature and gubernatorial election is vital to your pocketbook.

  • Sep 16th, 2016
4038126_web1_160506-ECH-Letter-Bug_1

Ideas living in our heads rule our lives | Rich Elfers

"Trust and verify."

  • Sep 15th, 2016 by

Ideas living in our heads rule our lives | Rich Elfers

"Trust and verify." These were the words of President Ronald Reagan in dealing with the Soviets during the Cold War. Reagan's words can also apply to the immigration issue currently being debated by the presidential candidates.

3878518_web1_160914_ECH_Our_Corner_Bug_1

Remembering Sept. 11, 2001 | Our Corner

Sunday marked the 15th anniversary of the Sept. 11, 2001 attacks. I was a young reporter in Upstate New York that day and it's still almost as vivid today as it was a decade and a half ago. A version of this column ran in The Courier-Herald in 2011 and it has been edited for inclusion this week.

3878518_web1_160914_ECH_Our_Corner_Bug_1