Opinion

Rumbling and rambling on the way to November

The short columns for the upcoming mid-terms.

 

Shakespeare and sex jokes, Act II

How exactly did you think he became popular with the masses back in the time of the Plague?

 

Thank you for, Mount Peak Historical Fire Lookout Association supporters

Keep a lookout for future information during this fundraising phase.

  • Aug 16, 2018

 

An all-American Rockwell scene

I’m not a farmer — I suspect you already know that — but I live on three acres and, given the price of hay trucked from Yakima, there are farmers in the Krain area willing to cut and bale my field.

Freedom of religions doesn’t mean imposing your beliefs on the public

To then allow any person or group to inflict its particular religious beliefs upon others would clearly deny our right to freely worship and follow our own beliefs

  • Aug 15, 2018

Real life, like Risk, requires great self-discipline

My grandkids were fascinated and played with intensity. Two of them formed an alliance against me for a time to keep me from conquering the world. I, of course, took advantage of all the “teachable moments.”

Businesses should serve the public equally

Many a war has started over “deeply held beliefs’ and religious convictions.

  • Aug 14, 2018

Editor failed to be a fair moderator

Instead of framing the issues and allowing the readers to “form their own opinions on the matters at hand,” the editor chose to apply superfluous labels.

  • Aug 10, 2018

“Deeply held beliefs” no excuse for discrimination

Is it not time that we recognize that “deeply held beliefs,” sometimes are simply wrong?

  • Aug 9, 2018

Perception becomes reality, both nationally and individually

China’s problems can teach us all a lesson about the need for humility.

  • Aug 8, 2018

Southern Poverty Law Center no longer credible

The editor’s use of the SPLC in an opinion piece was flawed.

  • Aug 7, 2018

All encouraged to participate in this year’s National Night Out

This is a chance for neighbors to build neighborhood spirit.

  • Aug 3, 2018

Lindquist made our communities safer

He has a proven record of protecting seniors, locking up career criminals, and suing Big Pharma to recover money for taxpayers.

  • Aug 2, 2018

Approving potential Buckley apartment complex ‘a giveaway’

If the goal of the city council majority, they mayor and city administration is to continue being a bedroom community service Bonney Lake and Enumclaw, approval of this project with all the giveaways will go a long ways toward accomplishing that goal.

  • Aug 1, 2018

Columnist, AG debate core issues of Arlene’s Flowers court case

On July 3, columnist Rich Elfers wrote a column about Arlene’s Flowers, the 1st Amendment and equal rights. A few weeks later, Washington State Attorney General Bod Ferguson wrote in, challenging Elfers’ facts and characterizations.

  • Jul 31, 2018

Mary Robnett for prosecutor

We need to restore integrity back to the Pierce County Prosecutor’s Office.

  • Jul 31, 2018

Don’t forget about liberal tribalism

The progressive policing and categorizing the nuances of cultures, people, or movements serves only to exacerbate divisions in our national social structure.

  • Jul 27, 2018

Firearms purchase warning ballot measure waiting approval

Back in 1965, with mounting evidence of the ill effects of smoking, Congress decided every pack of cigarettes should come with a few words of… Continue reading

All can consider, what would a great leader do?

George Washington believed in representative democracy and hated the idea of an American aristocracy.

  • Jul 26, 2018

You, too, have the opportunity to learn abroad

Taking the chance to live abroad in high school is one of those priceless experiences. No matter where you choose to study you will be so thankful you took the risk.

  • Jul 26, 2018