Opinion

Presenting a third way of thinking

During my training as the political action person for the Sumner Education Association, we were told teachers make lousy legislators because they try to be “fair.” Being a state legislator is not about fairness to all, the Washington Education Association speaker said. It’s helping your special interest group and putting them above all other groups in the state.

 

Focusing on the many ties that bind us

We humans often find it difficult to face reality. Many of us have created adaptive ways to avoid what is uncomfortable. Eventually, the power of reality pushes through our ignorance and our unwillingness/inability to see things as they really are.

 

Summer reading: Relax, learn and have fun

It seemed like winter was longer‐than‐usual this year, but it’s behind us now. And with the change of seasons—and warmer days — it’s almost time for summer reading.

  • Jun 21st, 2017

 

Solutions can be hidden in plain sight

I had foolishly used my band saw to cut through a plastic bottle of rhino glue to get at what still was liquid and usable. Doing this knocked the continuous metal band of saw teeth off their three pulleys. When I repeatedly tried to fix it, the steel band saw blade kept coming off.

Thank you, attenders of Seattle Children’s Enumclaw Guild luncheon

Thank you to all for making this luncheon a success.

  • Jun 15th, 2017

Discipline lacking in the legislature

Washington voters amended the state constitution in 1979 in hopes of bringing discipline to a legislating process run amok.

  • Jun 14th, 2017

If you run for office, your thinking changes

The week of May 15-19 was the filing time and in Enumclaw, all city government positions had at least two candidates running, a very unusual occurrence.

Thank you, Enumclaw Schools Foundation

I am the teacher librarian at Sunrise Elementary and I wanted to…

  • Jun 9th, 2017

The waiting is the hardest part

In one month I’ll be moving to Japan and it honestly can’t get here fast enough. Not because I want a change of scene or because I get a cool job right out of college or because I want to hurry up and get my student loans paid off (these are all true) but because I’m just sick of the waiting. Tom Petty was right. It’s the hardest part. This is torture.

ALZ Participants Match Challenge

I’m pleased to announce a challenge match of $30,000 available this June to support our state’s Walk to End Alzheimer’s fundraising.

  • Jun 7th, 2017

Trump may spur greater democracy

According to a Dec. 19, 2011, article in the “Daily Mail.com,” scientific research has proved Nietzsche right, at least in part. Small amounts of stress do make a person stronger and better able to cope with the difficulties of life. Too much stress, and too little, have the same effect: difficulty coping.

  • Jun 1st, 2017

Again, talks turn to closing the state government

At the direction of Gov. Jay Inslee, agency leaders are updating their contingency plans for furloughing workers, suspending contracts and locking up if a new state budget is not in place when the fiscal year begins July 1.

  • May 31st, 2017

Carried along the rough waters of Trump

James Comey, recently-fired FBI Director, gained his reputation for integrity when he was Assistant Attorney General during the George W. Bush administration.

Hope is around the corner

Is there hope for Black Diamond?

  • May 25th, 2017

No quick fix for car tab fiasco

It’s pretty clear those running Sound Transit aren’t seizing the initiative to ease the financial pain caused by a surge in its car tab fees.

  • May 24th, 2017

‘13 Reasons Why’ is worth settling in and watching

It’s no secret when a new show is released on Netflix. Posts can be seen all over social media discussing this new must watch show or movie. And a month ago when “13 Reasons Why” was released, it was no different.

Concerned about the Trump presidency

Trump can do whatever he wants.

  • May 23rd, 2017

GOP had better take long-term approach

Donald Trump and the Republicans did it. On May 4, the House of Representatives succeeded. With a narrow, party-line vote of 217-213, Republicans passed the repeal and reform of Obamacare. There was a celebration on the White House lawn.

  • May 18th, 2017

State Legislature made headway on some key issues

Negotiations on the funding and operations of public schools were occurring on most weekdays, not weekends, and there was no guesstimate of when Democrats and Republicans in the House and Senate may cut a deal.

  • May 17th, 2017

Scrap outmoded definition of Arab

When I tread the corridors and walkways of Green River College, I constantly pass women wearing hijabs (Muslim headscarves). Are these women Arabs? That depends. They may be from India, or Iraq or Norway. What exactly is an Arab, anyway?

Tax returns and presidential candidates

Some Democratic lawmakers want to know if they can legally keep President Donald Trump’s name off the ballot in Washington in 2020 if he doesn’t release his tax returns.

Hope for the best with Trump’s learning curve

“If people perceive themselves to be in the domain of gains, they tend to avoid taking risks, fearing that they will start losing. But when they find themselves in the domain of losses, they become more willing to take them (risks), desperate to somehow reverse their fortunes.”

  • May 5th, 2017

Bill would make it easier on voters

In the stack of bills awaiting Democratic Gov. Jay Inslee’s signature is what one supporter described as the “most progressive democracy measure” emerging from the Legislature this year.

Operating in different realities

We all live simultaneously in three realities, states theoretical physicist Max Tegmark in his book, “Our Mathematical Universe”. The first reality is our understanding of the world based on our life experiences, our internal reality.

Who’s to blame for another special session?

Another special session is upon us. Truthfully, it’s been going on for awhile among those in the fraternity of lawmakers, lobbyists and legislative staff toiling in the state Capitol. They’re all used to not finishing on time — which this year meant by April 23 — and a few don’t know any other way.

Major parties lack trust, competence

When sizing up someone, which trait is more important? Trusting that person, or knowing that person is competent? This is the question that social psychologist Amy Cuddy posed in her book, “Presence.” What she found can give us an insight into our political leaders and their effectiveness.

  • Apr 20th, 2017

A tiny little squiggle of ink

Ah the Oxford comma. It’s just a tiny little squiggle of ink, but there’s an endless debate over its necessity and use. Just last month, for example, the 1st Circuit Court of Appeals ruling recently hung on the use — or lack of — the Oxford comma that a judge said changed the meaning of a law.

  • Apr 19th, 2017

House Democrats may have found a solution

After years of futility in targeting the wealthy, House Democrats may have divined an approach to achieve some of the political and financial dividends they’ve been seeking.

If our leaders simply accepted blame

“The BUCK STOPS here” was a sign that sat on President Harry Truman’s desk. The meaning of this pithy phrase was that responsibility for performance was not passed on beyond this point.

  • Apr 14th, 2017

Challenge to support Rainier Foothills

The Courier-Herald’s article about the Rainier Foothills Wellness Foundation’s annual giving campaign has generated questions and concern from community members, especially within our senior population. We appreciate the editor letting us address these concerns.

  • Apr 13th, 2017

The simple truth: nagging never ends

Once upon a time, I was a kid who lived at home and was tired of having adults nag me. Do your home work… is your bed made… who broke the vase… brush your teeth… don’t forget to do the dishes… why is there chewed gum all over the bed frame… why did you hit your brother with a tennis racket? I was excited to become an adult and be able to do whatever I wanted, when I wanted.

Trump fumbling early chance at success

“Trump identified the right problem too early,” according to “Geopolitical Futures” analyst George Friedman in an article entitled, “Trump’s Dilemma: President Donald Trump’s Ability to Make Changes Depends On Whether His Support Rises Or Falls.”

Fix our healthcare system before it explodes

Another left-wing progressive column from Elfers on March 22 compels me to write this letter.

  • Apr 6th, 2017

Put a ring on it the way you want to

We are finally nearing the end of the logistical hell that is wedding planning.

Reichert has lost my vote

I’m forced to conclude that Dave Reichert was stating a big fat lie when he said his goal remains to provide healthcare access for all Americans.

  • Apr 5th, 2017

Become smarter, challenge your beliefs

“If you don’t like the way we are bringing you up, find those who do better and copy them.” These were words from my mother when I was 13 or 14.

To beat Alzheimer’s in the future, the fight must start now

The Alzheimer’s Association’s 2017 Facts and Figures report found a soaring prevalence, lack of effective treatment and enormous costs for Alzheimer’s and other dementias.

  • Mar 30th, 2017

The secret in the classroom revealed

Cellphones have become the talk of the town in Washington, D.C. with suspicion of talking to and listening to whom.

Public will have to halt party bickering

“Whoever digs a pit will fall into it, and a stone will come back on him who starts it rolling” (Proverbs 26:27). This ancient Hebrew proverb brings to mind the current Republican-controlled Congress and its 60 or so past attempts to destroy Obamacare.

Seems a simple solution fell through Olympia’s cracks

Everyone understands the problem. No one opposes the solution.

  • Mar 22nd, 2017

Our rights were assured by English battles

How would you feel if you witnessed the aftermath of a shooting of a black man by two white police officers in your yard? This happened last year to my cousin. That event brought her sleepless nights, pain, conflicting emotions and confusion.

  • Mar 17th, 2017

Don’t mix business with religious beliefs

I am responding to Richard Elfers’ opinion column regarding whether or not people should be allowed to disobey the law based on their own religious beliefs.

  • Mar 16th, 2017

Policy-making or political posturing?

As the ruling majority in the state Senate, Republicans can bring up pretty much what they want on the floor when they please.

Urge adequate funding for our national parks

On March 2, 1899, President McKinley signed legislation creating a 365-square-mile national park, the fifth ever designated by Congress.

  • Mar 14th, 2017

Goal is to live, love and leave a legacy

From the age of 10, my life was chaotic.

Business owners must treat everyone equally

So Richard Elfers now wants us to go back to the days of separate-but-equal in regards to civil rights.

  • Mar 10th, 2017

Political drama in Tacoma courtroom

The next episode in a political drama sparked by President Donald Trump’s election was take place in a Tacoma office building Friday.

Concerned with USPS mailbox regulations

Today I got a notice in the mailbox informing me my mailbox was out of compliance because it was 33 inches from the ground to the bottom of the mailbox (it is supposed to be at least 45 inches).

  • Mar 3rd, 2017

State should protect business owners

Barronelle Stutzman’s “relationship with Jesus Christ” doesn’t give her the freedom to turn down business – even if that business violates her personal beliefs. Or so said a Benton County Superior Court judge in his decision against her in 2013.

Doctor, people like you will make us great again

The last few weeks have been depressing with the direction our country is moving. However, we read a letter to the editor (Courier-Herald, Feb. 8) from Dr. David Schumer from Auburn.

  • Feb 24th, 2017